Put on your Best Face

I’m old enough to know what make-up I like by now. I’ve had plenty of experimenting over the years. But I’ve settled on a very selective few products that I love and use every day.

My favorite room to declutter with my clients (I’m a professional organizer) is their bathroom. I ask them to put their daily make-up on, that they wear every day to work. Then, I ask them to add the products they would wear for a night on the town or for a wedding or special event. They look beautiful and sexy and ready to go, even though we are still in our cleaning clothes! But it’s really fun to see what people choose.

Then we get rid of the rest!!! Even if they just love this one item, if it’s never used, it goes. Sometimes we love certain make-up just because we love to look at the colors but it doesn’t actually look good with our skin tone or eye color. Sometimes we feel guilty because we spent too much money on something that just isn’t right for us. Same goes for clothes. Let go of that guilt.

Here’s a sneak peek into my make-up (and yes this is ALL of it).

 

The first photo is my daily make-up. It all goes into the striped bag you see in the photo. I use almost all of this every day. Included are concealer, face powder, blush, eyebrow powder, mascara, eyeliner, and Burt’s Bee’s lipstick and chapstick. Plus the brushes that go with each item. I planning on converting the eyebrow powder to a pencil, which will eliminate the small brush.

My special event makeup is everything in the striped bag plus an extra foundation, a shinier eyeliner, and an eye palette. I keep this all in my special event clutch. I know where it is and I keep it out of my everyday wear (put away in my closet) so I don’t have to think about it until I actually have a special event!

I’d love to see your pared-down make-up. What are your favorites and where do you keep your dressy make-up?

Leave a Reply

